CLOSE

The governors of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut announced a new travel advisory on June 24, 2020. New York State Team

LINKEDINMORE

ALBANY – New York, New Jersey and Connecticut will direct travelers from states with high rates of COVID-19 to quarantine for 14 days upon their arrival.

The Democratic governors of the three states held a joint news conference to announce the travel advisory, six days after New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo first threatened to put it in place.

The move comes three months after Florida, Texas, South Carolina and other states instituted a similar quarantine policy that included travel from New York, New Jersey and Connecticut, which came at a time when Florida's coronavirus rates were low and the Northeast states were being hit hard.

Since then, the rates have flipped: Florida is identifying thousands of new cases of COVID-19 each day, while New York is regularly seeing below 700.

"I think it's right and I think it's smart and I'm glad we're doing it together," Cuomo said in a news conference Wednesday in Manhattan.

Domestic quarantine rules:  These states still require travelers to self-quarantine or present negative COVID-19 test

Cuomo said the order will apply to travelers from states that have identified 10 residents who have tested positive for COVID-19 for every 100,000 residents on a seven-day rolling average.

As of Wednesday, that applied to nine states: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington Utah and Texas, according to Cuomo.

New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy said further guidance would come from the states' health departments. Each state will be enforcing the advisory in its own way. 

Murphy called the measure a "common sense" move.

"This is a smart thing to do," Murphy said. "We have taken our people, the three of us in these three states, through hell and back, and the last thing we need to do is subject our people to another round."

In New York, Cuomo said travelers will be expected to voluntarily quarantine for 14 days upon entering the state.

If they are caught violating that quarantine – if a police officer pulls them over for an infraction and sees they have an out-of-state license, for example – then a judge could issue a mandatory quarantine order, Cuomo said.

If someone violates a mandatory quarantine, they could be subject to a fine of up to $2,000 for a first offense and up to $10,000 if they cause harm, according to the New York governor. 

Cuomo has acknowledged the situation is a "complete 180" from March, when Check out the latest offer.

Autoplay
Show Thumbnails
Show Captions
LINKEDINMORE
Read or Share this story: /story/travel/news/2020/06/24/ny-nj-ct-order-out-state-travelers-quarantine-covid-19/3250440001/